Encouragement

Boldly and Confidently, Sing Praise…

“Sing unto him, sing psalms unto him: talk ye of all his wondrous works.” ~ Psalm 105:2 

Singing is not one of my stronger talents, but I love to sing. My hesitation, or lack of confidence, comes from two specific events.

The first event occurred many, many, many years ago when our family was asked to sing “Silent Night” for a Christmas program at our church. The people thought it would be wonderful to see my mom and dad and all five of us girls up on the platform singing as a family. What they did not take into consideration was whether we could in fact sing. We did our song and even at my young age, I could tell it was not very good. In fact, we often use the word horrible to describe the performance. The Von Trapp Family Singers we were not.

The second event occurred a few years ago at our home. Our high school aged son had started taking piano music theory lessons and he needed something to practice on, so we purchased a used piano.  Well, even though I had six years of lessons, my piano playing is not the best. I can play the right hand or the left hand, but not both hands together, but I love to play.  One evening I was ‘playing’ hymns and trying to sing at the same time. Our two Cocker Spaniels started howling and both my son and husband shouted at the same time, “Mom (Honey), please don’t sing and play at the same time.” They said it nicely, but as you can see I have good reason to shy away from singing around others.

This brings me to Wednesday night, during worship team practice. I was singing, hesitantly, but I was singing. My very dear friend turned and looked at me and said, “You need to sing with more confidence. Sing out.”

Are we hesitant to sing out to the Lord or to proclaim confidently and boldly how He has changed our lives? Are we held back because of a past circumstance or fear of what others might think? I need to have an attitude displayed in Psalm 104:33 “I will sing unto the LORD as long as I live: I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.” I need to talk about how my life is different.  I need to sing God’s praises.

Sing boldly, Sing loudly, Sing confidently, just sing, sing, sing.

“Sing, Sing, Sing” by Chris Tomlin

We will sing, sing, sing
And make music with the heavens
We will sing, sing, sing
Grateful that You hear us
When we shout your praise 
Lift high the name of Jesus

What’s not to love about You?
Heaven and earth adore You
Kings and kingdoms bow down 
Son of God, You are the One
You are the One we’re living for

You are the love that frees us
You are the light that leads us
Like a fire burning
Son of God, You are the one
You are the one we’re living for

Until Next Time,

Rita

Leave a comment