Jesus, Be the Center…

“You are in the exact center of the forest, and that doesn’t happen except once every hundred years.”  ~ Woldweller (The Search for Delicious)

H and I went hiking this weekend.  This photograph was my first try at a panoramic view, and it really doesn’t do justice to the beauty of God’s creation, but it does serve as a point or lesson for me and hopefully you as well.  From where I was standing (the center of the spokes), I could continue in one of any four directions.  Each path with its own terrain, plant life, and hidden treasures to discover along the way.  Some paths were easier than others.  Some were longer, and all leading in different directions.    If you take your focus off the path, you could end up going in circles.

This week, I have come to the realization that I don’t like the person I have become with regards to a situation in my life.  My focus was on the circumstances, my emotions, my worries, my insecurities, and my impatience.  Did you catch how many times the word ‘my’ was used in that sentence.  The point is, I was not putting Christ in the center of this situation.  I was letting everything except Christ drive my reactions and responses.   I took my eyes off the path (Christ).  I let world views of “I’m entitled to feel this way” infiltrate my thinking.

Colossians 2:8 (ESV)
 “See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to human tradition, according to the elemental spirits of the world, and not according to Christ. ” 

Life is hard sometimes due to choices we make or the choices made by our friends or loved ones.  Do we want Christ at the center, guiding us down whatever path we take?  Are we willing to respond in a Christ-like fashion instead of anger or frustration?  Are we ready to ask for forgiveness for our actions towards others?  These are all difficult questions, and sometimes, not so easy to answer or do.

Dear Jesus,

Forgive us when we do not make you the center of our life.

Until Next Time

Rita

 

Leave a Reply

