What My Dog Taught Me About Obedience…

Our dog Abbie has been trained to follow certain commands; sit, down, stand, mat, wait, stay, etc. While we eat, she either eats her food or waits on her mat until we are finished. Last week, she decided to pester my husband while he was eating. He stood up and told her to sit. She looked at him, walked away around the furniture and sat down behind the chair. H called her over to the spot where he originally told her to sit and repeated the command. This time she went across the room and laid down under the table. This went on for about 10 minutes before she was obedient and finally sat where she was supposed to sit. It was all I could do to keep from laughing. Abbie was willing to sit and follow the command, but it was going to be on her terms. After all she did sit and she even laid down; so what if wasn’t where she was told to. So what if she hadn’t been completely obedient?  Watching all of this made me wonder if God looks at us and shakes his head when we are not obedient to Him.

He says “do” and I respond with, “Sure, I will be obedient and do, but my obedience will be over here or over there or in my own time.”

King Saul is a perfect example of doing things his way after God gave him specific instructions. The account is found in 1 Samuel 15. Saul was told to battle the Amalekites and destroy everything. He was not to leave anyone or anything alive.  Saul destroyed almost everything, but he took Agag, King of the Amalekites, and the best livestock back home with him. I will pick up the story in verse 17: “So Samuel said, “When you were little in your own eyes, were you not head of the tribes of Israel? And did not the Lord anoint you king over Israel? Now the Lord sent you on a mission, and said, ‘Go, and utterly destroy the sinners, the Amalekites, and fight against them until they are consumed.’ Why then did you not obey the voice of the Lord? Why did you swoop down on the spoil, and do evil in the sight of the Lord?”  And Saul said to Samuel, “But I have obeyed the voice of the Lord, and gone on the mission on which the Lord sent me, and brought back Agag king of Amalek; I have utterly destroyed the Amalekites.”

Saul appeared to be following the instructions, but he added his own twist. So what did God do in response to Saul’s disobedience? Let’s pick up in verse 23: “For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft,  And stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the Lord, He also has rejected you from being king.”  The chapter ends with “…the Lord regretted that He had made Saul king over Israel.”  I certainly do not want the Lord to regret calling me to do something, but sometimes I really struggle with absolute obedience.

Luke 6:46 “Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord’, and not do what I tell you?”

My obedience is an outward demonstration of an inward adoration and love for God.

Obedience is the very best way to show that you believe.
Doing exactly what the Lord commands, doing it happily.
Action is the key – do it immediately, joy you will receive.
Obedience is the very best way to show that you believe.
O-B-E-D-I-E-N-C-E
Obedience is the very best way to show that you believe.

Until Next Time,

Rita

Leave a Reply

