Little Moments (February)…

It’s the Little Things #32: Looking at a problem or situation from a different point of view.
#33: My husband had a crucial meeting yesterday, and he wanted to hear about my day (meetings) first.
#34: When I am frustrated or trying to process something that has happened, instead of automatically rushing in to ‘fix’ the situation, my husband listens and listens until he hears my heart.
#35: Sharing a passion with my husband. (In our case, music and teaching).
#36: Holding the hand of the one you love.
#37: Reflecting with my husband, about the diverse ways God is present and working in our lives throughout the day/week/month/year.
#38:Saturday date night…..sticky toffee date pudding.
#39:  My first 2016 visit to one of our favorite parks with H and Abbie.
#40: Still learning to appreciate that I am married to the Pun King of the Universe.

#41: Receiving a hug from a student, just because he is happy to be at school.

#42: Licking cake batter off the mixer beaters and remembering all those 4-H baking projects so many years ago.
#43: Receiving a late Christmas/thank you card from a sibling of one of my students thanking me for being his brother’s teacher this year. I read it twice to make sure I was reading it correctly. Brought a few tears to my eyes.
#44:  Waking up to find our Clivia plant where the Christmas tree used to be. My husband was the elf that very quietly made the exchange. Hopefully the plant will bloom this year. Until it does, I have fake blooms to add color.
#45: Taking a little bit of time out of my schedule to get my nails done. To put this into perspective, I have only had my nails done four times my entire life.
#46: Discovering an early Diamente (sort of) about music, written by our son.  I miss waking up to the sounds of a Suzuki piece in progress.

Music
Tempo, Notes,
Sounds, Rhythm, Reading,
Joyful, Hard, Important, Sad,
PIECE

#47: Reconnecting over lunch with a dear friend.
#48: Setting the alarm for 1:00 a.m., piling in the jeep with my husband and dog, driving to the darkest part of the county we can find, opening the sun roof, watching a meteor shower.  Marveling at God’s brilliance.
#49: Seeing the strength and beauty of two deer cross the road on a dark, snowy night.
#50: I usually drive to work before dawn breaks, but yesterday, I left the house a little later than usual. As I headed out the door, dawn was just breaking, and I heard a sound. I paused to see if my ears were playing tricks on me, and sure enough, I could hear the distinctive chirps of a robin, early on a spring day. I know it isn’t spring yet, but that chirp is a signal of soon-to-come crocus, buds on trees; life as it awakens from the slumber of winter.
#51: Polite drivers who changed lanes so I could merge safely into traffic.
#52: Spending time with my family, on a beautiful Saturday.  Love my mom and sisters!
#53: Knowing that when difficulties come my way, I have an opportunity to respond with faith and love, or fear and anxiousness. I choose faith and love.  Faith that even when something doesn’t seem possible, faith remains unwavering, because it isn’t that God will, but rather that God can, and when he does, it will bring glory and honor to Him.

James 1:2-4 Living Bible
Dear brothers, is your life full of difficulties and temptations? Then be happy, for when the way is rough,
your patience has a chance to grow. So let it grow, and don’t try to squirm out of your problems. For when
your patience is finally in full bloom, then you will be ready for anything, strong in character,
full and complete.

#54:  God could have created a plain world for me to live in, but instead, He created a world full of beauty.
Psalm 8:3 “When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars, which You have ordained.”
#55: Monday was particularly stressful; several phone conversations with detectives, sheriff, St. Louis Medical examiner, frantic emails to my husband, and a phone call to our son. When he answered, I had one simple request, “Just tell me you are alive!” Later, when my husband and I got home, another phone call to another detective. I went to bed early because the range of emotions I experienced had worn me out, so I missed the text from our son. Tuesday morning, I discovered this text message: “Love you – sorry about today!…Trust me, I’m alive and kicking.” I love this son of ours! At the end of the day, the detectives had the wrong person and the wrong family. I have mixed emotions; grateful that this tragedy did not involve my family, compassion for the family it does involve
#56: I was feeling a little cheated out of winter with small amounts of snow, and the warm temperatures. Today I am celebrating the snow, winds, and home from school. WooHoo, winter is not over yet.
#57: After all these years, my husband still agrees to wash dishes (no dishwasher) if I do the cooking. I think I get the better end of the deal on this one.
#58: Waking up this morning and realizing my last official coaching event was last night. I don’t have any after school or evening practices or competitions the rest of the year. BTW, my math bowl team won first place. What will I do with all that time…
#59: Thankful I am free to worship God, not just on Sunday, or during a church service, but every minute of every day.

“To worship God from the depths of the human soul is to discover worship in its purest form, unaffected by the world around; and it is deeper than any mere human emotion.” ~ A.W. Tozer

#60: An additional 24 hours to spend time with and enjoy my loved ones. Happy Leap Year Day!

Until Next Time

Rita

 

 

Leave a Reply

